Happy Birthday Beautiful

I think I am on a roll sharing layouts that I’m just not in love with.  I promise that my next share will be something that I love… or at least like a lot.

When I made this layout, I was determined to use up some older papers and items.  I started with that triangle patterned paper.  It was the last of a “kill a kit” challenge I gave myself.  I chose that green hexagon paper to go with it from a 6×6 pad as well as the pink stripe that was a scrap.  The background paper is from an old paper pad.  I haven’t even purchased a paper pad in years because I prefer the heavier weight of individual papers.  Then I pulled at that heart vellum… which I love so much that I almost purchased another sheet.

Happy Birthday

The papers and vellum work pretty well.  I’m not entirely sold on that background paper.  It isn’t the same shade of green as the other papers.  I didn’t want to go with a white cardstock background, but now I’m thinking that might have worked out better.

Really it’s the design of this page that I’m not loving.  The embellishment clusters aren’t working.  The bottom right hand corner isn’t too bad.  The left hand corner is just awkward.  I’m thinking about removing that pink button.  It is just so out of place.  The floating scattered hearts are also a little strange.  Oddly, they work more at the top than they do at the bottom.

All of the embellishments were things that were laying on my desk.  Again, I sometimes challenge myself to do some weird things.  I honestly think that contributed to the randomness.

In the end, I may remove a button and change the placement of a heart.  I won’t take the time to redo the page.  There are so many other pages waiting to be made.  I won’t let a misstep here and there weigh me down.

One thought on “Happy Birthday Beautiful

Leave a Reply

