The Journey Begins

I promised I would blog about a page I loved.  This one really makes me smile.  Most of my pages use dark or bright colors.  Pastels just are not my thing.  I don’t even decorate for spring because most of the items are in pastels.  Yuck.  But I had fallen for the background paper that looked like it had been water colored.

The Journey Begins

I knew this was going to be a single photo layout with minimal layers.  Otherwise that lovely painted look would have disappeared completely.  I kept my layers fairly small, using scraps from my scrap basket. My one “cheat” at getting more patterned paper onto this page was that black and white paper at the corners.  The heart shapes on that paper were colored in using a water pen and some distress inks.  I really love how that turned out!

I wanted the embellishments for this page to be pretty minimal as well.  A few chipboard and wood veneer hearts sprinkled in with gems seemed just about perfect.  I know that gems are “out” and people generally grab enamel dots.  This page just needed a little bit of sparkle.  Enamel dots don’t give quite the same effect.

Though this page is not my typical layout, I’m thrilled.  Sometimes it is good to go outside your box.  Though it doesn’t always work out beautifully, you might just be surprised.  Some fabulous pages may be waiting for you.

3 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

Leave a Reply

