Scrappy Gems

As I was going through the disaster that is my scrap container, I stumbled upon a wondrous thing.  First, a lovely lime green and teal leaf print that I believe was from Dear Lizzy.  Just a few papers later I ran across a teal green leaf print from Bo Bunny.  How had these two perfectly paired beauties escaped my attention for what was probably more than a year?  (Years, really.  That Bo Bunny paper was a new release in 2010.  Yikes!)   I think that I work so hard at using up the smaller messier scraps, that I overlooked the larger pieces.  A few more larger scraps yielded the newer lime green pieces as well as the mulberry paper.  Remember mulberry paper?  It’s so 10 years ago.

New Side Yard

I knew that my photos were going to be somewhat nature based, to go with the leaves.  Though I have some nice photos of forests, it was a little too much green.  So, I settled for some landscaping photos.  A little green, and it’s outside… so it counts, right?

Once I got the photos and papers in place, I felt like I needed to bring another contrasting color.  Green may be my favorite color, but it was just flat.  As I was going through my embellishments, the I am collection struck me as working well.  It pulled in the softer teal/aqua as well as added in some peach.

For once, the embellishment were pretty easy to put together.  I went with tags up top.  (I was dying to get some on a page.  For some reason they usually don’t work for me.)  A couple of die-cuts and a cut from my Silhouette made up the cluster below.  Then to add in some dimension, I dug through my brads.  Oh how I love and hate brads.  They are gorgeous.  However, I like to move my embellishments around.  Once you place a brad, you are stuck.  I took a deep breath, and just went for it.

So now I challenge you.  Can you find 2 papers in your scrap bins that were just meant to be together?  Get them out, and let them be the starting elements for your next page.

 

2 thoughts on “Scrappy Gems

  1. Super clusters on this page. Your new side yard looks so nice too. I totally love when I can use old stash and you’ve done a fab job. I would not have guessed anything was that old on your page.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

