Sticker Sneeze

I was totally on a roll with layouts I really liked.  It was bound to come to a screeching halt.  This page doesn’t work for me.  I *want* to like it.  I just don’t.  And you know what?  That’s okay.  It isn’t as if the world has come to an end.  When this happens, I try to analyze what went wrong.

Oh My Stacks

There are a couple of issues going on here.  First, I think the floral and the navy paper should have something separating them.  A floral and a geometric just aren’t great side by side.  I’m not sure what I was thinking.  Most likely all of my focus was on color, and I completely ignored the patterns.

My second mistake was the complete snicker sneeze on this page.  Just to be clear… every single embellishment on this page is a sticker.  WHAT?!  There are no die cuts, wood veneers, chipboard pieces, tin pins, flowers, buttons, brads, or enamel dots.  How could I do this?  I know to use a variety of materials.  Variety keeps a page interesting.  It gives a page texture.  Stickers just fall flat, because they are flat!  I know I recognized the problem as I was creating the page because I popped up some of the hearts and included puffy stickers.  It wasn’t enough.

Still, the page isn’t all bad.  I really do like the top two embellishment clusters that are smaller. Somehow the compactness of those clusters keep them looking nice.  That’s what I will try to replicate in the future.

 

6 thoughts on “Sticker Sneeze

  1. I really like this page. It has the total opposite of the photograph – so it works beautifully. As for the floral and geometric butting up against each other… I didn’t notice this until you drew my attention to it – but …I think it looks fine. Sort of ‘edgy’ and it has a twist of the unexpected.

    Summing up…. LOVE IT! ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think that ‘experts’ have kind of given us all a bit of a cmplex about paper-crafting, telling us all that it’s ‘done this way’. Where-as …. it actually isn’t.

        There are no rules, and because there are no rules, there aren’t actually any mistakes. At least, not in ‘that’ way.

        You could make a ‘mistake’ if you cut something in a haphazard way when you wanted a dead straight line … or you could stick an embellishment on the left side when you wanted it on the right. But apart from that sort of ‘mistake’, there aren’t any rules, so there aren’t any mistakes.

        That pages looks amazing to me. I don’t see any mistakes – I see someone who’s great at scrapbooking their visual memories.

        You go for it, Scrappyesc. Make your own unique and fabulous paper-trail! 🙂
        ~ C ❤ bs. x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s good when we post stuff we aren’t happy with, especially if we can recognise why, or what went wrong. Sometimes this is way more helpful for others than posting something we adore and think is perfect! I do like it though, and would have been pretty pleased with myself if I had produced it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like this page. I think those patterns together are fine. I really like your clusters. I also like that with the photo being so dense that there is breathing room on the page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

