Simply on a Roll

Do you go through phases when you are scrapping?  It seems that I am currently in the mood to use very few products.  To be fair, I have rarely used a ton of product.  (Though I can remember at least one occasion where I ran wild.  I guess the lighthouse layout found here was just begging me to throw everything I owned on it.)  Lately I am finding that less is more.

There are some definite advantages to going with a simple style.  One of the most obvious advantages is the cost of supplies.  The fewer supplies used, the more money you save.  (Okay, maybe you aren’t saving money.  You just aren’t spending as much.)  Supplies are expensive.  Sometimes we need to scrapbook on a budget.

For me, a simple design also equates to more pages scrapped.  I’m a sloooooooooooooooow scrapbooker.  Generally a page takes me an hour and a half or longer to create.  Today’s layout took me 30-45 minutes.  That means I got to work on 2 pages in one day.  That almost never happens.

By going with fewer products on a page, I am also able to better draw the focus where I want it.  In my layout below, I wanted to highlight 2 things.  First and foremost, I wanted to draw the viewer’s eye to the photo.  (Yes, please look at that adorable girl!)  There aren’t a lot of embellishments to distract you from the photo.  Secondly, I wanted that beautiful tree paper to be on show.  I made sure not to cover it up or use competing patterns.  (Btw, that blue dot paper behind the photo is the reverse side of that tree print.)

Autumn Girl

One other thing that helped me put together a simple page is that I scrapped using a collection.  The papers and stickers come from Bella Blvd. in their Thankful collection.  (Which I evidently purchased in 2012 and NEVER OPENED.)  I didn’t have to try to find papers that worked together because that work was already done for me.  (Okay, so I did pull the green dot paper from a 6×6 pad, but only because I didn’t want to cut into another 12×12 paper.)  The alpha stickers were guaranteed to be a perfect match because they came with the papers.

So now I challenge you to go simple.  Limit your papers and embellishments.  Make that frugal scrapbook page!  I know you can create something simply elegant.

 

7 thoughts on “Simply on a Roll

  1. I LOVE this page. It says so much, but it does it in an elegantly fun way. You need nothing more. No adornments, no frills. Why have something which distracts your attention when what you need to focus upon is that fabulous little munchin surrounded by pumpkins!

    It’s perfection. Well done. ~ Cobs. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

