Sweet

Currently my scrapping inspiration is in the form of a challenge.  One of the message boards I visit challenged us to use a collection that we haven’t yet used.  This challenge really has me working through some things I purchased that have been collecting dust.  You can see the first page I created, “Autumn Girl,” with this in mind in an earlier post.

Really, it has also made me think about purchasing paper collections.  Why do I buy something and then let it sit for a year or more without making it onto a page?  I know my style.  I know what I use.  After a decade you would think that I have purchasing supplies down to a science.  (Obviously not since I ran out of adhesive a couple of weeks ago.)

The first reason I buy collections is really a terrible reason.  It was on sale.  *sigh*  I am an intelligent woman.  I understand advertising and how sales work.  The psychology of sales is certainly not beyond my grasp.  And yet, I still see those magic words and wind up with all of the papers instead of the 2 or 3 that really work for me.  Sometimes the shape and letter stickers included in a collection are just enough to push me over the shopping edge.  Oh those merchandising people are brilliant!

At face value, my other reason for buying a collection seems legitimate.  I think the papers are pretty.  That’s perfect justification for buying a collection, right?  Not in all cases.  Bella Blvd’s Thankful pack is a good example of a beautiful product that is not right for me.  I don’t take fall photographs.  I also don’t take photographs at our Thanksgiving celebration.  What was I thinking?  Oh yes, it’s pretty.

Today’s layout is created from a collection that is not right for me in more ways than one.  “Hello Baby” by Simple Stories is a wonderful pastel baby collection that includes pieces for pocket scrapbooking.  So what is the problem?  I don’t have children.  It was seriously difficult for me to find a baby photo that I had not already scrapped.  I am at the mercy of others to supply me with photographs of their adorable children.  And did I mention that I am not a pocket scrapbooker?  At least half of the papers in the collection are designed to be used in a format that I don’t utilize.  The pretty papers lured me in again!

It’s a good thing that I am much too stubborn to let these poor decisions defeat me.  Instead, I am determined to figure out a way to make them work for me.  In some cases that means getting my photographs from other sources.  My family seems more than happy to send me photos to scrap.  In other cases, I will figure out a way to use the materials in unexpected ways. This layout does a bit of both.

Sweet

I am the first to admit that I could have used these same materials and not included a baby photograph.  In fact, I have a fabulous photo of this year’s birthday cake that I could have used instead.  However, I did have this cutie that needed to get onto a page.  So after plucking out the last remaining baby photo I had, I went to work on papers.

The chevron seemed to be a good choice for a background.  That only left me with a few papers to choose from that weren’t designed for a pocket page.  So the polka dot was an easy pick.  I also looked through the paper strips and decided to use the “So Very Sweet” strip.  I felt it blended too much into the background, so I found that brown dot paper in another collection.  It adds a little visual weight to the bottom of the page.

Here is where I decided to use something a bit differently than it was intended to be used.  See those elephants?  That’s an overlay designed to be used in pocket pages.  I cut a white piece of cardstock to fit behind the overlay, knowing it would be a perfect place for my journaling.  The only tricky part would be adhering the transparent overlay onto the page without having the adhesive show through.  My banner (which I see I need to fix) purposely dips down to touch the overlay.  I have adhesive hidden behind it.  The small heart at the top right of the overlay is also hiding my glue.  Those two little places will hold plastic and paper together just fine within an album.

I am so glad someone suggested we try to make a dent in our unused collections.  Creating a page out of something that isn’t quite you is sweet satisfaction.

3 thoughts on “Sweet

  1. That’s a really good challenge – probably because they knew that most of us have bought tons we have never touched since. I have a roomful of it! I really like the page you have made, and that banner has given me a bit of an idea for a card – thanks!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

