Pages and How NOT to Photograph Them

I am in desperate need of a light box.  Currently I attempt to photograph either outside in the bright sun, or in the dark interior of my house.  Can you tell which one I used for this layout?  *sigh*  Shadows abound and make this already awkward layout even more awkward.  At least you can tell that it has some dimension.  If anyone has a light box suggestion or a diy, I would love to hear about it.

geek-out

So this layout is the result of a speed scrapbooking session.  I started with a sketch from the Stuck?! Sketches blog, and then just eyeballed cutting my papers.  Could someone remind me why that is a bad idea the next time I try it?  That turquoise circle ended up being much too small.  It is driving me batty!

I also have to admit that I didn’t really spend much time picking my papers.  The lime and navy work okay.  I’m just not sure why I chose the turquoise.  I think that maybe pulling the orange from the floral paper would have been a better choice.  I think that would have complimented the wood in the photos.  Would that have been too bright?  I’ll probably never know.  I never go back and redo my pages.  So many photos, so little time!

Oh, and if you are wondering about the photos, they are from a HUGE bookstore in Portland.  You could wander around in it for hours!  Yes, I’m a book geek.  I also happen to be a huge Felicia Day fan.  That too puts me squarely in the land of geekdom.

10 thoughts on “Pages and How NOT to Photograph Them

  1. I like the turquoise in this combination. Orange would be good too though. I haven’t heard of this author before but its an interesting title!!As for the photo dilemma, I am trying to sort out the very same thing. I have been told to get a box and line it totally with white paper. Another person suggested using a bit of cardboard wrapped in kitchen foil to help bounce the light around, but didn’t actually say where to position it! A third suggestion was two identical lamps, then of course there is the daylight bulb option….. I’ll let you know if I figure it out!

    Like

    1. That author is a quirky actress that I have an odd affinity for because she’s a bit geeky.

      Please do let me know what you find. I will try lining a box with white paper. If that doesn’t work, it may be time to buy a proper light box.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I find photographing layouts the most difficult, I have a mini studio that I use for smaller projects which is brilliant, but I need something’s for layouts, so I’ll be watching the responses with interest.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I photograph my stuff by a window and a large poster board on the opposite (where the shadow is) to reflect light from the window. I make sure I don’t have the sun coming into the window – cause overexposure. Good luck with trying to find the right combination for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am lucky to have a large north facing window in my living room so I often make use of white posterboard and use the natural light to my advantage. I have also found my bathroom has a texture screen on the window that allows for privacy but also create a great diffused light. Do you have any unlikely locations in your house that might offer this kind of set up?
    I feel your pain on cutting without thinking (or measuring) I’ve done that a few times!

    Like

    1. My only possible hope is if we get a sunny morning. However, we have entered the time of year where that is pretty rare. It seems to be either foggy or raining, so natural light would be a bit like winning the lottery. It looks like I will have to wait until spring to try out the windows in the bathroom.

      Like

  5. I’ve wanted a photo box for a while too. Plus I want to gather the cute little embellishments for around the photo for staging it. But until we finish house renovations, I don’t see it happening. If you figure it out, please share with the rest of us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

