Christmas Shopping… For Myself

I am absolutely in the full Christmas swing.  Packages from all around the country are headed my way.  Unfortunately, not all of those packages will make it under the tree.  It appears that this year’s shopping is working under the terms of the “One for you.  One for me.” philosophy.  *sigh*  I really should show more restraint.  I am supposed to be an adult by now.

In case you wanted to live vicariously through my purchases, I thought I would share.  First up is Freckled Fawn’s Very Merry Christmas Kit.

Freckled Fawn.jpg

There are both some hits and misses for me in this kit.  I adore the enamel shapes.  The inclusion of some larger hearts and stars won me over.  Oh, and the clear glittery ones are adorable.  I also can’t wait to put that large “joy” and the holly leaves to use.  I’m thinking those pieces are going on the same layout.  The puffy sticker alphabet just screams Christmas, doesn’t it?

To be fair, the misses in this kit were things I knew I wouldn’t love before I even ordered.  The washi tape is cute.  Washi is just not something I grab when scrapping.  The acetate pieces are another trend that drives me a bit batty.  They require much more thought than die cuts.  How am I going to adhere them?  Are they sitting on a solid paper, or is there something that is going to show through?  I just want to glue things down!!! Ahem.

Pinkfresh Studios recently had a box sale that I just couldn’t turn down.  Shipping included, this box ran $35.00.  Inside were 2 full 12×12 paper collections of Felicity and Live Noted, along with the 6×6 papers.  That alone would have more than covered the thirty-five dollar charge.  Additionally, the box had 3 stamp sets, a die, stickers, washi tape, and other embellishments.  I have been wanting to try scrapping with some Pinkfresh Studio papers.  In general, they have a more modern graphic feel than my layouts.  But it is good to branch out, right?  And honestly, look at those cute Christmas Wishes acrylic stickers.  I needed those aqua stars!

3 thoughts on “Christmas Shopping… For Myself

  1. Vicarious shopping is great. Most of the thrill, none of the bill! I haven’t head of either company but I like what you have bought very much. I like the one for you, one for me philosophy…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m trying to support some of the smaller companies. There are so few left. Freckled Fawn specializes in embellishments. Pinkfresh Studios is more of a graphic design/urban feel. It’s out of my wheelhouse, but I thought it might push me to be more creative.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

