A Layout with Bad Lighting

I feel like I need to write a million apologies for this post.  First, it is very overdue.  Sometimes life catches up with me.  Either I don’t have time to craft or I don’t have time to post.  In this case, a nearly 3 week illness kept me from posting.  Admittedly, I have not done much crafting in that time either.  At first I just didn’t feel well.  Now I find that my mojo took a hike while I was sick.  *Sigh*

Please also excuse the horrible lighting.  It turns out that when you don’t feel well, you really don’t care about the quality of the photograph you upload.  In all honesty, I could have shot this again today.  However, I’m feeling rebellious.  My students often groan when I ask them to redo something.  I beg you not to tell them I refused to do my homework correctly.  They would never look at me the same way again.  I promise to do better in the future.  Besides, the days are getting longer.  Natural sunlight will be back soon!

My last apology is to the artist who inspired this layout in a huge way.  This is almost a CASE of her work.  (Different papers and embellishments with same design)  Normally I would provide a link to her page and give her the credit she deserves.  It seems that in my head cold haze, I accidentally deleted the page.  I can tell you that her title was “This View.”  Sadly, the name of the artist is now a mystery to me.

beach-escape

As you know, I’ve been working on including layouts that have more breathing room.   I love to fill a page with patterned paper.  I just can’t help myself.  So every once in a while I purposely find an inspiration piece that has much more white space.  This page was a nice compromise for me.  I could still include a variety of patterned papers, while maintaining a fairly large blank area on the left hand side.

The original inspiration piece was all in yellows and blues.  I kept that color palette because it fit the beach theme so well.  I also incorporated a touch of pink.  Part of me thinks that I should have stuck to the yellow and blue.  The addition of pink isn’t bad, it just changes the feel.  Oh, and why did I add in more color?  See that pink, yellow, and red polka dotted Freckled Fawn washi tape?  I wanted, no NEEDED, to use it on this layout.  It just kept popping into my hand.  (Some things cannot be explained rationally.)

You will notice that my embellishment is minimal as almost always.  I knew I wanted to use the “Good Stuff” journaling card.  That area still looks like it needs something more.  The gold heart hanging out there all by itself looks rather lonely.

I am pretty happy with the small cluster to the left of the photos.  The square quote sticker bothers me a bit.  Does it make sense that I don’t like that it is square?  Perhaps it is because the journal card has slightly rounded corners.  If only I had a tiny corner rounding tool.  Someone make a tiny corner rounder!  I finished this off with some wood veneer hearts and one pink enamel heart.  Again, something very simple.

Does anyone have any suggestions?  I like this layout.  It just isn’t wowing me.

3 thoughts on “A Layout with Bad Lighting

  1. Sorry you have been feeling rough. Hope you are better now. So, as you asked for suggestions, I am going to give it a go. Remember I am not a scrapper though! I really like this page, but I am taking cues from the way you look at each area. I agree one more embellishment near the ‘good stuff’ card would work. Overall, I wonder whether covering just a bit more of the page with the papers might be good? Just an inch or so? Difficult to tell, and I know you were working from a sketch too so I may be talking rubbish! The only other thing I could suggest would be perhaps a sharper contrast between the washi and the white card? But, you are far too hard on yourself. I’d be pretty darn pleased with myself if I had managed anything like this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you are right about covering a bit more of the page with papers. I ran into an issue as I was cutting papers. My cutters would not cut more than 12 inches, which is fine, unless you are cutting a paper at an angle. You see, the diagonal is greater than 12 inches. (Of course the math teacher did not think about this until in the middle of creating the page. Geometry was always my least favorite of the maths.) So that top blue and yellow corner piece was originally planned to be larger.

      Yes, I will go back to add some embellishment to the journal card area. Now, just to find something that will work!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

