6×6 Summer Continues

A couple of posts ago I mentioned that I was working on a 6×6 challenge.  This is my 2nd layout that features some lovely 6×6 papers.  I am absolutely determined to get some of those pads used.  I swear they multiply in my scrap room.  It couldn’t be that I keep buying new pads even though I clearly don’t need any more!

In this case, I started with a photo.  This was a cake that was purchased for our fabulous teacher of the year.  (Sorry for the terrible job I did removing some identifying information.  I have NO photo editing skills whatsoever.)  I decided to repeat the green, yellow, and red colors that are found on the cake when choosing my papers.  The one little adjustment I made was the shade of green.  Though I had pulled a grass green at first, it just made the page much too dark.  And let’s be honest, I love me a light or lime green.

Our Hero

I am working through Jen Schow’s video series about using 6×6 pads on layouts.  This layout features randomly layered rectangles using the 6×6 pad.  I chose to use that black and white floral as well as the red with polka dots as is.  No cutting is always a plus!  The black paper with the arrows was cut in half.  The yellow matte was also cut down from the pad.  In order to fill the rest of the page, I grabbed pieces from my scrap box as well as a couple of pocket page cards.

There really isn’t any correct way to stack the papers.  Generally I start by figuring out what the layers will be from top to bottom.  In this case, I knew I wanted the black and white paper near the top.  However, it was much too busy to place directly behind the photo.  The yellow contrasted well with the photo, so it became my top layer.  That left me with the light green and red polka dot from the papers that I first chose.  I needed a layer between the light green and the background, so the red ended up being in the back.  I glued that section together and placed  it on my background.

It was nice, but it left far too much white space (well, green space in this case).  As always, I decided to go with what I know.  It was time to create an “L” shaped layout.  I snatched that yellow chevron out of my scrap basket and made it my anchor on the bottom.  Then I went through the pad again and chose that black arrow paper to begin forming the top of my “L.”  I needed some more bulk up there so I filled in with those journal cards and scraps.

The decorations for this are a little sparse.  With a room full of supplies, I found very little in the red, green, and yellow that I needed.  It’s not that I don’t own any embellishments in these colors.  I didn’t have them in the correct shades.  Why oh why don’t all reds match?!  As a result, I relied mostly on those black swirls for embellishment.  And bonus, it pretty much finished off the pack of them.  I only have a couple of hearts left, so those will be used up shortly.

I know that the area directly above the photo looks a little empty.  I plan on adding a bit of journaling to that spot.  That will finish out the page.

Though this isn’t the most amazing page in the world, I love how easy it was to put together.  Those 6×6 pads really can be used for 12×12 pages.  Come on scrappers!  Get out those little pads of joy and start scrapping!

Leave a Reply

