Back to 12×12 Papers

You may have noticed by now that I don’t scrapbook events in order.  In fact, it may take me a year or two to scrapbook our vacation photos, or Christmas, or anything else.  I pull photos out randomly, depending on my mood.  If I tried to scrap an entire vacation from beginning to end, it would feel like an assignment.  The last thing I want is for my hobby to feel like work.

So here is a warning that you may see beach layouts periodically for the next couple of years.  I think I have 20-30 photos waiting to be scrapped.  When I only scrap 1-2 photos on a page, it will take a while.  Hrm… now there’s a good potential future challenge.  Maybe I will see if I can create a page with 4-6 photos on it.  I may need to see if I can find Shimelle’s 4×6 photo love series.  She had some great ideas for multi-photo layouts.

The page I created doesn’t feel beachy at all.  Sure I worked in a tiny bit of blue and aqua.  However, my focal colors are red and creme.  Please don’t ask me why I went in this direction. I actually just thumbed through my random papers until I found two I liked.  You will also notice there isn’t a shell, wave, or otherwise watery theme in sight.  Though I admire themed pages, I just can’t seem to manage them myself.

Road Trip

There are a couple of things I really like about this layout.  First of all, I loved how easy it was to use up some scraps.  I just pulled together a bunch of random scraps that sort of worked together and cut them into banners.  Voila!  Fewer scraps in the bin.  The photo mats were also made from a scrap.  My other favorite part is the use of pocket page cards.  I managed to get 3 of them onto this page.  They tend to sit in my collection forever!  Using them feels like a major scrapbooking win.  (It’s the small things that make me happy.)

Though the overall page is clean and simple, it is a current favorite.  The photos are clearly the star.  (As they should be!)  A few wood veneer pieces to play up the nature theme and  some hearts was all it needed.  That’s it!  It feels good to be scrapping with 12×12 papers again.

2 thoughts on “Back to 12×12 Papers

Leave a Reply

