Fast Fun

This layout was so much fun and came together really quickly. I love pretty much everything about it. How often do I say that?

As I often do, I began with a sketch. This one from Splitcoaststampers was my starting point. I don’t have any affiliation with them, but they have some great sketches. I really just love how easy of a sketch this is to use. You know I love a sketch that allows me to use up scraps.

When I first saw these photos, I wasn’t sure how I was going to make a layout work with all of the colors. There is seriously a lot going on there. Instead of trying to offset it with a neutral or monochromatic approach, I leaned into the traditional Disney color palette. I chose a light blue cardstock as my background in order to soften some of the busy papers and phots. I purposely chose only polka dot scraps for the papers to the right of the photos. I also used the striped paper as a quarter inch border. I love a diagonal stripe border.

With so much going on in the photos and paper, I wanted to make the embellishments fairly simple. I first decided upon the white stars, inspired from the Slinky Dog Dash photo. That led me to the happy little star border that I used at the bottom. I also found a car sticker that worked so well with the theme of the page. I didn’t like the clean angle between the top photo and the yellow polka dot paper next to it. That balloon cluster brad was just perfect. Do you see the balloons in the Slinky Dog photo? It was meant to be.

This page is so whimsical and fun. Better yet, it was incredibly simple to make. I’m tempted to show my age and quote The A-Team. ”I love it when a plan comes together.”

Leave a comment