Scrap Cards

Scrapbookers know how quickly scraps seem to multiply. One moment you have everything organized and under control, the next there are papers everywhere. Storage containers inexplicably begin to overflow in a blink of an eye.

I pride myself on keeping my scraps tamed. When I scrap, I rifle through my scraps for nearly every page. Why cut into a new paper when there is one in your scraps that will work just fine? One would think that this method would result in at least keeping scraps maintained. One would be incorrect. *Sigh* Even with purposely making some layouts completely from scrap pieces, things still get out of control.

I used to keep all of my scraps in one vertical container. It was inconvenient, because the small scraps would be down at the bottom, difficult to see. I have since moved onto using a small decorative box for smaller scraps that I mainly use to create cards. Well, that box is filled to the rim. Which means it is time to make some cards!

I decided to start with some pink scraps. In fact, once I spotted that vellum with the hearts, I knew I had to use it. It needed something plain behind it, so I picked out the pink cardstock. It was smaller than my vellum, but I actually like how the hearts look that overlap onto the white card. I also added the small pink hexagon strip that matched.

It was time to choose a card base and some embellishments. I have had the scalloped card base in my stash for a number of years. The softness seemed to fit with the pink theme, so I went with it.

Now we hit the point where I am not in love with this card. Inexplicably, I chose a purple embellishment. In part, I chose it because it was the correct size. I also wanted to get it out of my stack of random embellishments. But when I look at the card I keep thinking that I should have kept it monochromatic. Could I take the flower off and place something else there? Yes. Will I? Nope. Onward and upward! I also smudged the stamping. Oh well. It’s handmade. Just keep swimming.

I think in the end, I will be happy giving this to someone. (My mom… I’m giving it to my mom.) She will love it despite the imperfections. It’s a perfect metaphor for her daughter. It has a good foundation. A flaw here and there just gives it character.

Leave a comment