Masculine Scrappy Card

As I was plunging through my scrap bin, I decided to create a card for a man in my life. The triangle scrap with the copper accents popped out at me. It’s both pretty and masculine. Further digging revealed a REALLY old brown scrap that I think has been around for a decade (don’t judge), and a piece of white cardstock. That was the perfect base for my creation.

I decided to use a design that I often employ. I generally use a card front just smaller than the card itself. Then I put a band across to split up the space a bit. Then I place a square or rectangle on top that will be the home of whatever embellishment I choose. It’s a simple design. Sometimes I will use a slight variation where I use two papers to create the card front. (The more scraps I can use up, the better!)

Once I had my papers chosen, it was time to figure out what to do. When I placed the papers, it was much too plain. So for the first time in over a year, I broke out my embossing folders. Some jaunty polka-dots seemed a good way to keep with the geometric feel of the card. Just that little bit of detail added so much more interest.

Then it was time to add in my embellishments. I definitely went super simple with this card. I found the present diecut that also sported some copper foiling. (I loved that this was also geometric when you looked at the four rectangles.) With that in place, it was still missing something. This time I reached for my ribbon containers and pulled out a white piece of ricrac. That was all of the decoration that this card needed. I decided to forgo the obligatory “Happy Birthday” sentiment. I always struggle with placement. Since they are often stamped, my shaky hands also create smeared words. So for today’s card, less is more.

Leave a comment